City Council Races Will Result in Some New Faces

A few more than half of the city council seats are on the ballot today in the city of La Crosse.

Voting outcome will insure that two new faces get seated on the council this month. That's because two districts--7 and 13--lack an incumbent. In a special election for district 7, former council member Jim Bloedorn and Justin Fons are vying to replace Mike Larsen, who quit the seat abruptly in the fall. In district 13, retired La Crosse firefighter Fran Formanek and current county board supervisor, Bill Brockmiller are hoping to replace longtime council member Bernie Maney who's retiring from the seat this year.   In two races, incumbent council members may struggle to hold on to their seats. In district 15, challenger Doug Happel polled significantly better than incumbent Lorraine Decker in the February primary. Incumbent district 12 candidate Bruce Ranis, likewise got significantly fewer votes than one of his February primary opponents, Sara Sullivan.    In districts 11, 16 and 17, incumbents Audrey Kader, Marilyn Wigdahl and Dick Swantz face no challengers

In order to post comments, you must be a registered user.


Are You Willing To Pay More Taxes To Keep The Bucks In WI?