* indicates required
Thursday - April 20, 2017 8:32 am

All-America honors, 52 years ago

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

In 1965, La Crosse became one of 13 communities to win the title of 'All-America City' for that year.  Three towns in Alaska were included on the list, for their efforts to recover from a massive earthquake the year before. 

The 1965 flood of the Mississippi, which would be a record-breaker, caused some concern for the Wisconsin Republican Party, which was planning to have its annual convention that May in La Crosse.  Party leaders considered whether to move the meeting to another city.  Even though the main convention sessions would be held on high ground at the Sawyer Auditorium, other events were planned on water-logged Barron Island, site of the Holiday Inn.  The Mississippi crested at 17.7 feet in La Crosse on April 20th...almost 6 feet over the flood stage.  Almost all of Riverside Park was underwater, except for the Big Indian statue.  The flooding did lead to cancellation of one La Crosse concert, a show by country singer Marty Robbins. 
Musicals dominated the Oscars that April.  The movie version of 'My Fair Lady' beat 'Mary Poppins' and 'Dr. Strangelove' for Best Picture, and won the Best Actor award for Rex Harrison as Professor Henry Higgins.  Julie Andrews, as Mary Poppins, took the Best Actress honor over Anne Bancroft, Sophia Loren, and Debbie Reynolds.  52 years ago, 1965, yesterday in La Crosse. 


Read 602 times Last modified on Thursday - April 20, 2017 12:24 pm
Brad Williams

A native of Prairie du Chien, Brad graduated from U-W-La Crosse and has worked in radio news for more than 30 years, mostly in the La Crosse area.  Brad writes the website "Triviazoids," which finds odd connections between events that happen on a certain date, and he writes and performs with the local comedy group Heart of La Crosse.  He's been featured on several national TV programs because of his memory skills.  

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.