* indicates required
Monday - April 17, 2017 1:21 am

La Crosse city council getting seven new members Tuesday

Written by

Council shrinks from 17 to 13 seats.

Decades of experience is disappearing from the La Crosse city council overnight this week.  

Tuesday, seven new members are taking the place of people like Rich Becker, who's been on the city council since the 1980s. Redistricting has shrunk the council from 17 to 13 seats. 

As for the La Crosse mayor, Tim Kabat says he's going to miss council president Dick Swantz the most.

"Dick helped establish a great tone in the council for the most part," Kabat said. "He obviously cares about the city and that came through in just about every meeting he was at.

Swantz opted not to run again.

"I didn't always agree with Dick on every issue but the fact that his goal was to establish a close, working relationship between the mayor and the council and as we know, in times past, that wasn't always the case, where they worked as closely as possible," Kabat added.

Along with Becker, Audrey Kader, David Krump, James Cherf, Jai Johnson, Bob Seaquist are all familiar faces and also not returning to the council, after choosing not to run or after losing in this month's elections.

"There's a really good group of people coming in," Kabat said, "and there's a group of good people, who gave a lot to the city, that are going on to other things."


Mitch Reynolds

Mitch Reynolds is the News Director at Midwest Family Broadcasting. He covers the internecine agonies of La Crosse city hall. He really likes basketball.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.